Southern California Transit Advocates

UncategorizedCategory Archives

Welcome to the SO.CA.TA webpage

The following SO.CA.TA Board members were elected at our December 13, 2020 annual  meeting:

  • President- Perias Pillay
  • Vice President- Mark Strickert
  • Treasurer- Dana Gabbard
  • Secretary- Hank Fung

Charles Hobbs continues as Newsletter Editor and Andy Novak as Archivist.

Our booth at the 80th anniversary celebration of Los Angeles Union Station on Saturday May 4, 2019 was a great success. We were mentioned in advance coverage of the event by the Los Angeles Downtown News. Richard Morallo of Metro posted a video on YouTube of the event that shows our booth at 1:37.

SB-742 regarding Amtrak Thruway Motorcoach services which we supported was signed by Governor Newsom Oct. 8, 2019.

By unanimous vote of our board we have endorsed AB-917 (Bloom) which authorizes all public transit operators in California to install automated forward facing parking control devices on transit vehicles for the purposes of enforcing parking violations occurring in transit-only traffic lanes and at transit stops. A letter of endorsement was submitted to the legislature. The analysis prepared by the Assembly Privacy and Consumer Protection Committee lists us as among the supporters. June 2, 2021 it passed the Assembly and was sent to the Senate. It passed the Senate Transportation Committee on Tuesday June 29th 14-3. The next hearing was before the Senate Judiciary Committee on July 13. It tentatively passed 7-0. The committee analysis reflects our endorsement. The bill now has passed the legislature and currently is before the Governor. We have sent a letter urging he sign it. More information on the bill can be found at this link

We are part of the coalition endorsing the Beautiful Boulevard proposal for the Eagle Rock Boulevard portion of the North Hollywood to Pasadena Bus Rapid Transit project Metro is in the early stages of implementing.

The Los Angeles Downtown News quoted Treasurer Dana Gabbard regarding proposed rail service reductions by LA Metro

Gabbard also was quoted by the VC Star on rail and Thruway bus as an option for travelling from Ventura county to LAX.

The NextGen Subcommittee submitted to Los Angeles Metro comments on the initial proposal and service changes proposed for December 2020 or later. We are gratified the revised NextGen proposal addressed our concerns regarding routes 79, 96 and 218.

Recently we discovered (on a flash drive) the long thought lost first and only Legislative Newsbrief done for a 2000 lobbying visit to the state capitol by three members of the group. It is an interesting peek at what were among the issues of significance then and is at this link.


Transit News

Information about transit service in Southern California during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) emergency is now at

The latest Transit Advocate newsletter (April-Nov 2020) is available. Until further notice, only the online version will be produced. The most current issue will be immediately published to (instead of after a month’s delay).

Wednesday June 9th, 2021 - 6:39 am  ·  

View on Facebook

Saturday May 8th, 2021 - 4:00 pm  ·  

View on Facebook

Saturday May 8th, 2021 - 3:58 pm  ·  

View on Facebook